All of the Things

I’m really trying to figure out what this blog will be about.
See, the issue is, that I’m interested in literally everything. Well not literally, but you get the idea. There are so many things on my radar, so many things that I am learning, so much I want to learn, so much the world needs, that it is just so hard to figure out how
to narrow it all down.
Everytime I come up with an idea (‘yeah, that’s it, I’ll run with that’), it’s gone in 5 minutes, or as soon as I think I can write an article a week on a single subject for 3 years (*gulp) it scares the shit out of me, or even if I do try to sit down and write, my mind goes blank.

OK yes, I’ll admit it, part of the situation is that I just refuse to choose. I mean this is my party and I’ll cry if I want to. See, I’m what they refer to as a scanner, a multipotentialite, and I attribute it to ADD. But that is neither here nor there. The important thing is that I am not accepted in the rest of the world, and this is my niche, my playground, the one place that I can come and be heard, and talk about whatever the hell I want to.

And this is where the problem starts to set in. See dear readers, the #1 rule of getting and keeping an audience, many ‘pros’ would have you believe, is focus. Otherwise, what audience am I talking to? Am I writing for internet marketers, or for people that are looking for ehtical money making and investing ideas, or for people interested in the business of sustainability and socially and environmentally responsible business? Otherwise (the argument goes), I am writing for myself, and that is not the way to build a successful blog… unless I am solely buying my own BS here, but that is a topic for another blog at another time.

See, because to me, they are all related. I mean, we as a being are body and mind and soul. We as humans have families and careers, we recreate and work out, and relax. We are spiritual beings with physical needs. So to me, if I niche down and focus in my writing, I am not addressing the interpay between the topics of discussion, and this interplay is not only usually whats missing (and actually what’s f*#king wrong with the world, don’t get me started), but also where the creativity and innovation happens, where the solutions come about. James Altucher talks about ‘idea sex’, and the ‘idea babies’ are the profitable ones.

So this is what we are left with. A blog about nothing (get the Seinfeld reference? It worked for them), or, just maybe, it will be a blog about everything. I don’t know which one scares me more, which one will be easier (or harder?) to pull off, which one will attract an audience (the golden ticket to 72 virgin internet heaven, i.e. a successful internet buisness and profitability)…

Either way it will prove an interesting experiment.

All of the Things